Eating a dairy free diet can be a daunting task. The need to know all the dairy ingredients and check all your foods can be a big adjustment. Often people get confused and overwhelmed with all the information that is first thrown at them when making this lifestyle change. This blog will help dairy free individuals transition to a healthy, balanced diet, suitable for their dietary needs.
Many individuals don’t realize that dairy is hidden in many foods. Just because a food product doesn’t have “milk” listed as an ingredient, doesn’t mean there isn’t dairy in the product. Key words that mean the food contains dairy include:
Watch for these ingredients, and if they are listed in the food product, AVOID THEM if you want to avoid dairy! Bakery products can be tricky so look out for these ingredients in them. Eating at a restaurant can be difficult because you can’t look at the exact breakdown of the ingredients in the food. The best thing to do is ask if the dish is dairy free, or if you can modify it to be dairy free. Make sure to inquire about butter, because some people don’t link butter as being dairy.
Hopefully this quick entry will help you find dairy free products. As you become an active ingredient reader, you will get faster at learning what you can and can’t eat. Don’t get discouraged, there are great alternatives that you can eat (which we will get to later on). Stay tuned for the next “Living Life Dairy Free” blog!